Spatial Planning

The main purpose of spatial planning is reaching an agreement about the principles and conditions of the development of a land area. The Estonian planning system consists of six types of plans and proceeds from the principle that a plan of a more general level provides the output for a plan of a more detailed level.

Plans divide in national, county, general and detailed plans, and national and local special plans. National and county plans are prepared on the state level and their main objective is to express the spatial development needs of the state.

Pursuant to law, local governments have extensive planning autonomy to prepare general and detailed plans for their territories or its parts.

Special plans are prepared for the selection of the location of buildings that have a significant spatial impact on the level of the state or local government.

Last updated: 14 August 2017