You are here

Euro area and European Union

Estonia joined the European Union on 1 May 2004. The euro, the single currency of Europe, became the official currency of Estonia on 1 January 2011.

Based on the general objectives of the state – political and economic security and development – the goal of the activities of the Ministry of Finance is to be an equal partner in the European Union that is not overlooked.

The main and most important goal of Estonia’s EU policy is to make every effort to keep strengthening the European Union. This must go hand in hand with the further deepening of the common market and strengthening the common European financial services market and financial system.

The European Economic and Monetary Union and single currency are the foundation of a unified Europe for monetary and economic policy as well as general political reasons. The price stability guaranteed in the euro area, the strong and trustworthy single currency and a common financial services market largely based on the single currency are the main guarantees of the efficient functioning of the internal EU market and the free movement of production resources, and thereby also the most significant pre-requisite for the achievement of the social and economic goals of the European Union.

This means that a strong euro area and Estonia being in the core of the eurozone are the main preconditions for the development and economic security of Estonia.

The activities of the ministry and its area of government in the decision-making processes and international cooperation of the European Union are coordinated by the European Union and International Affairs Department.

Further information:
Andres Kuningas, Head of the European Union and International Affairs Department, +372 611 3759,


Last updated: 26 July 2017